TW Celebrates Sporting Success at the Sports Achievement Awards 2012

TW Celebrates Sporting Success at the Sports Achievement Awards 2012

Winners of Tunbridge Wells Borough Council’s Sports Achievement Awards were announced at a ceremony in the Assembly Hall Theatre, Royal Tunbridge on Friday 19 October.

Trophies and medals were awarded to winners and runners up in twelve categories which recognise people who have contributed to sport in some way, either through their own sporting success or through their work assisting others involved in sport. Selected nominees also received training grants to assist them with future competition and training expenses. The awards were sponsored by Fusion Lifestyle, Tunbridge Wells Borough Council, King Charles’ School Old Boys’ Association and Daisy Fletcher.

Representatives from both Tunbridge Wells Borough Council and Fusion Lifestyle had the difficult task of judging the awards. This year nominations came in from across the sporting spectrum, from cricket, football, tennis, curling, taekwondo, netball and table tennis to swimming.

Individual awards and certificates were presented to winners by Mayor of Tunbridge Wells, Cllr John Smith; Mark Braithwaite, Divisional Business Manager for Tunbridge Wells, Fusion Lifestyle; Ron Maggs, President of the King Charles’ School Old Boys’ Association and Olympic Torchbearer, Vanessa Burns, who carried the Flame along the Pantiles on its journey through Tunbridge Wells.

Awards went to:

12 years and under category

Joint winners: Imogen Hunt (swimming) and Caitlin Fearon (gymnastics)

16 years and under category

Winner: Luke Bailey (badminton)

Under 21s category

Winner: Lewis Gray (table tennis)

Over 21 category
Winner: Edward James Couldwell (rowing)

Fusion Junior Team of the Year Award

Winner: England Girls’ Curling Team

Fusion Senior Team of the Year Award

Winner: Ladies Relay Team, Royal Tunbridge Wells Masters Swimming Club

Primary School Team Award
Winners: Claremont Primary School Sports Team

Secondary School Team Award

Winners: Bennett Memorial School U15 Rugby Team

Sports Leader of the Year Award

Winner: William Desmond

Daisy Fletcher Award for Overcoming Adversity

Winner: Matthew Weston (taekwondo)

Outstanding Service to Sport Award – Seniors

Winner: Liza McIver-Hall (‘Run off your feet’ women’s running group)

Coach of the Year

Winner: Christopher Hogwood (Claremont Primary School)

Training grants were awarded to:

Imogen Hunt, Caitlin Fearon, Archie Turner, Luke Bailey, Conor Pring, Lewis Gray, Angharad Ward, Edward James Couldwell

Pictured: England Girls Curling Team